British Pound Woes

LIFE_wavegraph copy

Today’s news confirms what I guessed would happen.  The UK has decided to leave the EU and obviously this has had economic repercussions on the British Pound.   News is currently talking about how it’s hit a 30 year low against the US dollar, and that 2.08 Trillion USD has been moved away from the  world’s stock exchange markets.  The black hole of economics!  Who has moved all of this money?  Nobody in the news is asking this question.  The Rothschild family, the Rockefeller Foundation?  Most probably.  Their network is not so small, and I’m sure there was a lot of preparation beforehand to move money away from the stock market and move it back into the banks.  In my mind it’s not such a big deal for me, since I haven’t invested in the stock market in many years.

Anyhow, back to the nitty gritty of my blog post.  A month ago, I was asked to do the French to English translation of a social science book that dealt with the Europe’s response to the NSA and the Snowden files.  Would have been an interesting book to finish up and put on my roster of translated books, but the book publishing house, which is based in London, was wanting to pay me a rather low British Pound rate per page.   The project would of been due at the end of this month.

Realizing creating a lean startup business for the translation industry requires quite a few skills.  Think I like considering all these aspects though.  Much more interesting than sitting at the desk of a humdrum LSP doing only one task.

Thanks for my fellow teammates for giving me advice and feedback on this project.  Turns out my initial hunch and gut feeling was correct.

 

Leave a Reply

